Local Reps

Interested in starting a new sport, but not sure where to begin? Want to find out more about the outdoor adventures your local area has to offer? Keen to meet other hyped people near you? Look no further!

SOYT has a wonderful team of reps across Scotland who are super keen to chat with you about the sports they’re involved in and share their knowledge of their local area! We also have Whatsapp groups for each area so that people can stay in contact and organise adventures. Get in touch with the rep if you’d like to be added to the group!

Aberdeen

Hannah

Email: han.falconer94@gmail.com

Main Sports: Triathlon, Hiking, Climbing, Wild Swimming & Climbing

Hi, I’m Hannah and I’m currently living and studying in Aberdeen! I’ve been here for three and a half years now and in that time I’ve tried to see and do as much as possible, and I’m constantly adding things to my list of places to explore!


From a young age I’ve loved getting outdoors. I absolutely love nothing more than getting out into the hills for a day of walking and top notch banter. Recently I’ve been getting into triathlon and so you can often find me out on a run or on my bike, and hopefully post-covid, back in a pool. For now, a bit of outdoor swimming can be a hoot with a braw wee hot chocolate in the back of my van after to warm up #vanlife. And I’ve just got my hands on a SUP to join the party, so I’m plotting new kinds of adventures as I type. I’ve done a little bit of climbing, and in the future it would be great to learn some new things including getting into trad climbing and finally learning to ski (I know, where’ve I been), as I’m insanely jealous of all these people ski touring as it looks freakin’ awesome.


I wanted to join the SOYT team to get to know some more like-minded people and to share some of the fun finds around Aberdeen and hopefully visit loads of new ones. It can seem far-flung, but Aberdeen is great as it has a wee bit of everything. For those vertically inclined, the Cairngorms are just an hour and half’s drive for your dose of Munro’s, lochs and adventure. For those looking to the sea, there are some brilliant beaches and cliffs to explore, for surfing, paddling, swimming and more. And of course, I love a good forest walk, maybe even a castle thrown in, and there are plenty of those around as well.


I can’t wait to start planning adventures for the future, and hopefully sometime soon we can get back to my dream day out: a nice cold pint after a long hill day with a bit of wild swimming in that wee river we found on our descent, lovely.

Inverness

Kirsten

Email: kirstencronie@aol.com

Main Sports: Hill Walking, Trail Running, Whitewater Kayaking, Bike-Packing & Bouldering/Climbing.

Hi! My name is Kirsten Cronie and I am currently living and adventuring in Dundee. I’ve been living here for almost 5 years now, having graduated in Textile Design from DJCAD in 2020, and I love it here! Dundee is a great little city to be based in for adventures, an hour’s drive from the hills in Glen Clova and Glen Shee and close to some classic whitewater like the river North Esk and the Braan Gorge. Getting out running and engaging with the local hills around Dundee has been what’s kept me active and in shape during Covid. When life isn’t in lockdown, then you can usually find me either at the climbing wall or exploring Scotland on foot, on two wheels, or by kayak. I love getting close and intimate with all the nooks and crannies of the Highlands, as I believe there is a lot more to see and do than simply getting to the top of a hill and ‘bagging’ it (although I do love taking in new mountain tops!).  


When I’m not out adventuring (and if i’m not scrolling Bing Maps for adventure inspiration), then I’m usually working on the creative side of my life, writing for my website’s blog and designing high-end knitwear inspired by Scotland. I also love reading about and expanding my knowledge of the histories, cultures, and traditions of the Scottish Outdoors. When lockdown ends, I’m looking forward to taking my bivvy bag and plodding all over the remote corners of Scotland and it’s Isles!


I’m looking forward to being a SOYT Rep as I love meeting, inspiring, and being inspired by like-minded people. I hope I can help facilitate other people’s adventures once we’re allowed out again, and help introduce the outdoors lifestyle to new people who are looking to push themselves out of their comfort zones. I also can’t wait to get the whisky out and have as many ceilidhs as possible with all these like minded people when the time comes!

Edinburgh

Kimberley

Email: kimberleytravers@hotmail.co.uk

Main Sports: Surfing, Wild-Swimming & Paddle-boarding among many more!

I am based within Edinburgh, I was born and raised here so I like to think I have a fairly good grasp of what this diverse city has to offer; but with that being said as soon as I get the chance I am always ready to travel to new places to explore and see what they have to offer!

Generally I like to have my hand in as many outdoor pursuits as possible, but I am definitely more of a water-based person. You can usually find me out on the cities local beach, swimming or on a paddle board and when I get the chance, at the nearest surf spot. There’s also nothing I love more than sitting with friends after spending time in the not-so balmy North Sea with a hot drink (or a beer) next to a bonfire!

The reason I wanted to join SOYT team and become a rep was so I could help build a community of outdoor activists in Edinburgh. This past year has made me appreciate the outdoors and my local surroundings even more than I did before. I’m very excited about this role especially considering everyone has just experienced a pretty isolating year, this is why I’m looking forward to meeting lots of new faces and like-minded people. I want to help create a friendly group to share new and fun experiences with and hopefully inspire others to get outside and enjoy all the things Edinburgh has to offer!! 

Christie

Email: christiesmillie@hotmail.co.uk

Main Sports: Korfball, Hill-walking & Camping

I’m Christie and I’m here to bring average chat and a wild enthusiasm for rocks to the table. Currently living in Edinburgh, I’m often found sat on my butt editing and posting photos from past adventures.

I’m looking to diversify my hobbies beyond Korfball- a quirky indoor sport kind of like dutch basketball. I absolutely love coaching and playing but I feel like I’m missing something- some fresh air (and quality geology time). 

Time spent playing indoors hasn’t really translated to any quantifiable skill except throwing and catching- so I’m starting with SOYT as a complete newbie. I know I like hillwalking and I’m super keen on camping, but there’s a whole world of adventure right in our back garden. I’m hoping to show that you can enjoy the outdoors safely and responsibly at all levels of ability, with a pinch of patience and respect for the environment.  Looking to find new ways to enjoy the great outdoors learning from you lovely people, can’t wait to meet you! 

Falkirk

Emma

Email: emma.gillanders97@gmail.com

Main Sports: Hiking, Wild Camping, and generally being in the Outdoors!

Hello! My name is Emma, and I am a photography graduate and all round artsy person. Because I spend a lot of time sitting in my studio working on my small business, it’s great to get outside and explore interesting and inspiring places.

I am originally from the middle of nowhere in Aberdeenshire, but moved down to Glasgow in 2016 to study. I then moved to Falkirk in 2017 where I’ve been ever since. Falkirk just happened to be named the UK’s Best Walking Neighbourhood of 2020, which it rightfully deserves, as there seems to be an endless amount of paths and trails right on my doorstep! Having grown up in such a rural area, I’ve always been drawn to the outdoors and being surrounded by nature. You’ll often find me out hiking or chilling in my hammock, and I look forwards to wild camping in the nicer weather.

I wanted to be a Rep for the SOYT as I have built up an extensive knowledge of the local Falkirk path networks, and I would love to share my experiences. It’s great to know that you don’t have to stray too far from home to find great spots for new adventures. I have also completed some training courses, such as the Rambler’s Out There Award, which has helped boost my confidence in longer hikes further from home. I really enjoy the social element that walking as a group brings, and love any opportunity to meet like-minded people on days out.

Glasgow & Lanarkshire

Russel

Email: russell@drumloch.co.uk

Main Sports: Climbing (Trad & Winter), Hill Walking, Cycling

Born and raised near Strathaven, I was lucky enough to be introduced to hillwalking and the outdoors when I was 10 years old, by some enthusiastic Scout leaders. I have since had the pleasure of introducing and inspiring the next generation to the outdoors over the last five years, as a Scout leader in Strathaven.

I was initially into hill walking, cycling and wild camping but after three years with the Glasgow Uni Mountaineering Club I spent more time climbing both trad and winter, but still enjoy the hill walking. I am currently working towards gaining the Mountain Leader qualification, so am always keen get out on the hills, no matter the weather!

Like everyone else, the restrictions during 2020 were frustrating, but I’ve spent a lot of time exploring the hills and windfarms closer to home and enjoyed finding the hidden gems and quiet spots of the northern tip of the southern uplands. There are still loads more to this area that I haven’t yet seen and I look forward to meeting new people and introducing them to the area.

Stirlingshire

Joe

Email: joemclellan97@gmail.com

Main Sports: Hiking, Wild-Swimming, Snowboarding, Cycling

Hey everyone! I’m based in the Balfron/Killearn/Fintry area – as anyone who lives out this way will know it’s not the easiest place to meet other young adults! This is a big part of why I want to be a local rep for SOYT, I want to help bring more opportunities to the area and local community. I love all things outdoors, hiking, big hills, wee hills, cycling, cold water swimming and just plain sitting by the river with a wee campfire going. I learned to snowboard while living in Canada in 2019 and I’m super excited to be a part the Scottish winter sports scene! 

I studied Fine Art at Glasgow City College and then worked in the arts for 4 years before moving to Canada for a couple of years solo traveling. While there I got to try snow showing, cross country skiing, ice climbing and experience living in a mountain town 1400m higher up than Glasgow. The diversity in people was incredible and started me on a journey learning French.  

 I’m currently in the process of pursuing a career in outdoor education, for this I’m working on building up my outdoor qualifications such as navigation, first aid and more sport specific things too. These are helping me organise me own walks in my local area which I’m excited to share with more people when I can! 

Western Isles

Koren

Email: korenpickering@gmail.com

Main Sports: Open Water Swimming (lochs/rivers or the sea), Freediving, Sea Kayaking, Coastal Walking and Camping (also dabble in Bouldering, emphasis on dabble).

Hi guys! I’m based around Stornoway, on the Isle of Lewis. It’s quite a small community but the landscape has so much to offer. Anyone from round here knows that it can be quite hard to find people in your peer group who want to go out and adventure around the Hebrides. I joined SOYT as a Rep because I want to be a point of contact for people who come up here and want to find out more about what the Hebrides has to offer, or who they can banter about with. I was born and raised here, and grew up with access to things like sailing, kayaking, kiting, climbing and lots of sea swimming. I have an extensive local knowledge and I also know the right people to get in touch with in regards to specific outdoor activities whether it’s surfing, scallop diving or climbing. 

I’ve been back and forth from Edinburgh over the past 4 years as a student in the city, and having had a social circle there who were always keen to go on adventures made me realise that can be difficult to find up in the Hebrides if you’re not local or know someone from there. I want to make sure SOYT has a rep based up here to make knowledge of Hebrides and what we have to offer more accessible, and also to help connect folk up here who want to go out and explore with new friends.

In my free time you’ll usually find me swimming in the sea. I enjoy snorkelling and a bit of freediving, and if I’m feeling particularly wild I’ll swim around in my mermaid tail. When the days get longer I spend a lot of time camping and having fires on the beach. I work as Gaelic outdoor instructor over the summer for the council in Lewis, so if I’m not swimming I’m probably working with young people outside.